‘‏My Mother’s daughter – Meri Maan Jayee’ a poem by Fauzia Rafique with English translation

A tribute to my beautiful and wise sister Salma Farooq.

مری ماں جائ

(اپنی سوہنی تے عقلاں والی بہن سلمہ فاروق دے ناں)

فوزیہ رفیق

 

مری ماں جائ

ترے پیار دے رکھ دی چھاویں

میں نت بیٹھی، اترائ

 

(انج ویکھو تے دوری اے (ڈاہڈی

جیویں مجبوری اے

(‘میں سڑکاں پھراں تشنگی ہاں’)

مڑ، آپی میرے دل وچ وسدی

دکھ سکھ سانجھ کرے

ماں میری نے افسر لا‏ئ، غلطی آن پھڑے

(‘مشورہ اپنے اپ نوں وی دیا کر، ببّی’)

من مجلس وچ ہاسے ٹھٹھّے

(لطیفے، کثیفے)

ماپیاں جھوک آباد کرے

 

مری ماں جائ

وڈیری پکھ دے ساک

توں الفت نال نبھا‏ئ

 

ہرنی نیناں مکھ تے

مکھڑا پھل گلاب

ہر اسمان دے تاریاں اندر

توں چاندر جیہا شباب

نگھیاں لاٹاں بالدی توں

پالے لال گلال

اونچ نیچ دے سبھے موسم، دنیا کرے حساب

وڈی توں

وڈیری توں

تیرا ایہی جواب

 

مری ماں جائ

مینوں ماسی خالہ آکھن والی

توں ٹبری آن ملاي

 

کچ دیاں ونگاں کھنکھن

ترے گیتاں دی آواز

 ہوا تے بدلاں سار آۓ

فن گن سارے قدرت

تیری ذات چ پاۓ

ماں ساڈی دی ال

سگوں اچے کم وکھاۓ

جو کردی، توں

سوہنا کردی

ہر پاسوں تری مثال آۓ

 

مری ماں جائ

کرودھی دنیا دے سینے تے

توں پیار دی جوت جگاي

 

(تھینک یو، آپی جان)‎

‎۔۔

English Version

My Mother’s Daughter
A tribute to my beautiful and wise sister Salma Farooq

My mother’s daughter
in the shade of the tree of your love
I always sit, with pride

It seems there’s distance (too much)
as if there’s an insurmountable limitation
(‘I walk the streets thirsting’*)
Yet, Api lives in my heart
Shares my pain and joy
Appointed by my mother to officiate
She spots my fault
(‘Give advice to yourself as well, Babbi’)
Laughter and laughs in the congregation of the self
(jokes, naughty jokes)
She settles again our parental space

My mother’s daughter
relationships of higher responsibility
you fulfilled with affection

Deer eyes on the face
face a blooming rose
In the stars of every sky
you glow like the moon
Igniting tender sparks you
nurtured your family
in all seasons of ups and downs, others point fingers
You are respected
you are Elder
This is your response

My mother’s daughter
those who can call me aunty aunt
you brought me that lovely clan

glass bangles knocking
the sound of your songs
reaches me with breeze and clouds
All arts and talents nature
placed in your person
our mother’s heritage
heightened them more
Whatever you do
you do so well
your examples are cited in every field

My mother’s daughter
on the chest of a hostile world
you lit the candle of love

(Thank you, Api Jan)

*A line by Shah Madhulal Hussain

2 thoughts on “‘‏My Mother’s daughter – Meri Maan Jayee’ a poem by Fauzia Rafique with English translation

  1. Pingback: Praise be to Google Translate – But wait – Fauzia Rafique

Leave a comment